Guidelines for a Healthy School Year
- They have had a fever during the night. Please do not give Tylenol or Motrin and then send them to school. Wait 24 hours to be fever free (without medicine) before returning to school.
- They have vomited or have had diarrhea within 24 hours.
- If they have been prescribed antibiotics, they may return after being on the medicine for 24 hours.
- You suspect your child has an infectious disease and are waiting for a physician’s appointment to confirm the diagnosis.
WWA follows the Colorado Department of Health & Education guidelines and infectious disease protocols.
It is Jeffco Policy that any medications must be kept in the WWA clinic. A JeffCo Medication Agreement Form must accompany all medications (see below for link). Please note that it must be the JeffCo form for us to be able to dispense meds at school, and all medications must be provided by the parent. Both over-the-counter and prescription medications require both the parent’s and the physician’s signatures. In the instance of an Epi-Pen or Asthma inhaler, the appropriate forms are linked below. You can turn in the form to the front office or ask your doctor to fax it to 303-423-4388, Attention: Viki Duvall.
All medications MUST be in their original packaging (no zip lock baggies) and all prescriptions must have the pharmacy label on them with students name clearly visible. If you have questions, please contact Viki Duvall or Audrey Klein at 303-431-3694, extension 279.
- Medication Agreement Form
- Epi-Pen Plan
- Colorado School Asthma Care Plan
- Seizure Emergency Care Plan
- Overnight Field Trip Medication Form
When registration is completed, we require that parents turn in a current Colorado Immunization form. This can be obtained from your doctor. You will be contacted within a month of school starting if your child is not in compliance with Colorado Immunization Requirements. You will be given a limited time to become compliant before facing possible exclusion from school due to non compliance according to Colorado Law. Please note that students moving from Pre-K to Kindergarten will require vaccines, and students moving from 5th to 6th grade will usually require vaccines. Requirements for the 2021-2022 school year can be found at the link below.
**All students moving from 5th to 6th grade will need to have a Tdap vaccine. Be sure to turn updated vaccination forms in to the front desk.
There are some changes coming involving filing for Non-Medical (personal or religious) Exemptions. There will be two ways to file:
1. Submit the Nonmedical Exemption Form, which now REQUIRES a Doctor, AP Nurse, or Physician’s Assistant signature.
2. Submit the certificate you receive upon completion of the Online Education Module. At the end of the module, you can input information to print your exemption form that does not require a doctor’s signature.
Nonmedical exemptions expire each year on June 30th, and require renewal each school year. New Exemption forms can be downloaded from the Colorado Department of Health and Environment by clicking HERE.
**Please note that exemptions must be renewed annually. This means that if you have previously claimed exemption for any vaccines, you must do a new one.
With lice cases on the rise district wide, we thought we would share some tips from a parent that has been through the arduous process of eliminating lice and nits. Click here for more information. Click here for a lice FAQ from JeffCo. Know that while it is a nuisance, lice is not a health hazard and is not something that students are excluded from school for. While we will send a letter home to an entire grade if there is a report of lice, we do not disclose student names. We do, however, encourage students to keep their diagnosis private as we are aware of the unfortunate social stigma attached to lice. Click HERE for a non-toxic lice treatment.